Pretty Girls Make Graves

Pretty Girls Make Graves had the foundation that most great bands need: true friendship and love of music. Although only active for little over a year, before releasing their single Lookout LP, "Good Health", the interest and support that had surrounded them upon first mention of their formation was overwhelming based on their pedigree of previous bands. But Pretty Girls Make Graves were not ones to rest on their laurels, they were out to create and perform dynamic, compelling and powerful music.

Seattle, WA is well known for its creative and self supporting music community. All members of PGMG had done time in well known and respected Seattle bands over the last five years. Singer and lyricist Andrea Zollo was in the highly regarded DEATH WISH KIDS, THE HOOKERS and AREA 51, guitarist Jason Clark was in KILL SADIE and SHARKS KEEP MOVING, drummer Nick Dewitt and Nathen Johnson were both in THE BEE HIVE VAULTS, and bassist Derek Fudesco was a founding member of the much loved MURDER CITY DEVILS as well as pairing with Zollo in AREA 51, DEATH WISH KIDS AND THE HOOKERS. While many musicians outgrow the rough and furious genre of punk, one thing that makes PGMG so special is that the musicians involved honed their playing for many years before returning to reinvent what they initially loved about punk music. So while they did have the music history to refer to, what the band was trying to accomplish with PGMG was much more. Always keeping sincerity and emotion as a primary force guiding their music, but combining that with stellar musicianship and exciting song writing, PRETTY GIRLS MAKE GRAVES were a punk band on a whole other level.

Prior to releasing their debut LP, Good Health, on Lookout in April 2002, PGMG's first self-titled EP was released on Dim Mak and Sound Virus Records. After Good Health, the band signed to Matador records where they released The New Romance (2003) and Elan Vital (2006).

In March 2004, guitarist Nathan Thelen left the band to form Moonrats and Leona Marrs (of Hint Hint) joined PGMG as a multi-instrumentalist. On January 29, 2007 the band announced that Nick had left the band and their May 2007 tour would be their last. Their final two shows were 9 June 2007, in Seattle.

After their break up, Andrea Zollo began to plays drums with Triumph of Lethargy Skinned Alive to Death, featuring Spencer Moody (Murder City Devils), Corey J Brewer (Bright Shiny Object), and Dann Gallucci (Murder City Devils, Death Wish Kids).

Jay Clark drummed for Jaguar Love for an EP and an LP. Along with former Blood Brothers members, Johnny Whitney and Cody Votolato, they signed with Matador Records, the later home of Pretty Girls Make Graves. In February of 2009, it was announced Jay was no longer playing in the band.

Nick Dewitt continues working on his solo electronic project Dutch Dub. He also plays with Amy Blaschke in Night Canopy.

Derek Fudesco has put out a couple records playing guitar for The Cave Singers with Pete Quirk (Hint Hint) and Marty Lund (Cobra High), also on Matador.

Nathan Thelen started Moonrats in Seattle soon after leaving Pretty Girls Make Graves together with keyboard player Aska Matsumiya and drummer Jason Echeverria. They soon moved to Los Angeles and self-released an EP, have just recorded a new album and have a 7" coming out on LA Record in 2008.

Leona Marrs returned to her old band, Hint Hint.

Pretty Girls Make Graves continue to be an influence on the art-punk scene with their unique sound and cultural imprint they have left behind in the wake of their break up.